The rules states that the additional die is not gained when battling out of a Town AS NOTED ON THE CARD. The card does not note this - so is the card lacking by mistake or are the rules incorrect on this point?
Right, the wording "as noted on the Charge card" reference to this passage on card "Ordered cavalry units battle with 1 additional die the entire turn."
It does not mean, that the special town / charge rule is also written on card.
On cards are the basic card rules.
And if there are special objects, e.g. towns, which had special exceptions, so you read the special exception at this special object(s).
Imagine we would have 3-4 more such special exceptions (objects, or units) and you would write all on the card
Read over and over again the campaigns of Alexander, Hannibal, Caesar, Gustavus, Turenne, Eugene and Frederic. ... This is the only way to become a great general and master the secrets of the art of war.~Napoleon