My reading of the Tactician Card "Leader Orders a Fallback" might be that it could be played by the Active player in response to a First Strike type card, as that would comply with the phasing restriction stated on the card: "After a melee combat is declared but before the dice roll..."
However, there is further down the card a lot of references to the "attacking unit" and not taking ground. Yet, the attacking unit is not necessarily equated to the active player - e.g. see the FAQ for "Battlefield Smoke".
Thematically, it seems like it would be a good thing to be able to play the card in response to First Strike - like the leader spots the trap and hastily cancels the attack.
Have players come across this situation or have a view either way ?
Last edit: 1 month 6 days ago by RiverWanderer. Reason: clarify subject
“ So, you'd announce an attack and wait to see if the defender plays a card before you play yours as the attacker?”
If the rules - in this case the card wording (plus an FAQ) - allow it, I might. Conversely, I wouldn’t complain if my opponent did the same. That seems fair. Some other games do define card play procedure in the way you like to play; Here I Stand comes to mind. C&C does not define TC play as attacker then defender, at least for those cards that can be played at precisely the same point. In that regard, I respect each designer’s decision as to what makes for a better game.
Where sequence is defined, as it is for the squaring procedure, it is not an issue. So, I am not sure if I understand the example you gave there and wonder if you read more into my original question than I intended.
I like to play to standard rules, one reason I value the FAQ on this site to resolve anomalies.
Still interested to hear views on my original question but for now I think it can be played by either player.
We've simply gotten into a rhythm where the attacker announces his attack, Tactician card and number of dice. The defender then announces square, retire & reform, stand and Tactician card when it affects the attackers roll.
After the attacker roll is applied to the defender - a battle back or breakthrough may ensue. Defender may play an appropriate Tactician card. Rinse and repeat.
Not a lot of time is spent discussing timing and perhaps this is wrong.
There is no man more pusillanimous than I when I am planning a campaign. I purposely exaggerate all the dangers and all the calamities that the circumstances make possible. I am in a thoroughly painful state of agitation. This does not keep me from looking quite serene in front of my entourage; I am like an unmarried girl laboring with child. Once I have made up my mind, everything is forgotten except what leads to success.~Napoleon