Tactician Card Default Action and Call Forward Reserves

More
6 months 2 days ago - 6 months 2 days ago #6450 by Hawkmoon
Hi Comrades !
Yesterday, we've been playing Ordal Cross with my friend, the well reknown Guillaume Gleize when appeared the next situation.
Guillaume used one of his Tactician card to move one of his generals.
Then, he played "Call Forward Reserves" to bring a unit near the same general (or under him, I don't remember, but this last fact didn't change anything).
I told Guillaume that I was thinking that his general was using two Tactician cards. He answered me that "the Call Forward Reserves card orders the unit and doesn't matter with the general"...
I watched the FAQ and didn't read nothing about this kind of situation...
Your opinion, Gentlemen ?
Greetz from Le Mans
Last edit: 6 months 2 days ago by Hawkmoon.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
6 months 1 day ago #6451 by Mark-McG
I'm inclined to think GG is right. Seems to me that Call Forward Reserves is entirely about the unit, and it isn't important if the leader moved by order or Default action to the location.

Glory is fleeting, but obscurity is forever.
[img]

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
6 months 1 day ago #6452 by Hawkmoon
Hi Mark, I understand your point of view which is very similar to Guillaume's one.
For myself, the fact that the general was moved by a Tactician card and then, this same general calls a unit from the reserves using the related Tactician card, makes me feel that this general has used 2 Tactician cards during the same turn.
But nevermind...
Maybe Richard will be wandering here one day and will have an official answer to fill the FAQ.
The more important is to have fun playing.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
5 months 4 weeks ago #6455 by marcR
We decided that the tactician card default action was to be played last and after any other tactician cards which may be sequenced for end of turn play.

This may not be correct but it has eliminated other 'timing' issues that may occur.

And for those of us similarly inclined - fits the text which seems to indicate such 'default' actions aren't intended to otherwise disrupt the sequence of events comprising a turn.
The following user(s) said Thank You: Hawkmoon

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • proyce
  • proyce's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Senior Boarder
  • Senior Boarder
  • Long time war gamer. Started with all the old Avalon Hill games back in the 60's.
More
5 months 3 weeks ago #6457 by proyce
Well, how do we know it is that particular general who called forward the reserves? Maybe it was the overall battlefield commander (e.g., Napoleon, Wellington, Blucher); or perhaps the commander of the reserves. I can see both sides of this discussion, so am of two minds about it. However, I would play it as Mark and GG suggest, but would abide by a different ruling from Mr. Borg. It hasn't happened in the 100+ games I've played using the Tactician deck.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
5 months 3 weeks ago - 5 months 3 weeks ago #6458 by marcR

proyce wrote: Well, how do we know it is that particular general who called forward the reserves?

You don't need to know if the house rule is that default actions are played after. You also don't need to concern yourself with exceptional situations when only a lone leader remains.

This is pretty much the only house rule we bother with. It closes a (apparent) loophole and keeps the game moving.

I'm not implying it's more correct. I'm only saying my bias runs towards simplification that result in the elimination of (gamey) edge cases.

Nothing on the card says that the leader the unit is placed into or adjacent to played the card.

To be clear - the game is perfectly playable without this house rule. Playing without it may also be what the designer intended.
Last edit: 5 months 3 weeks ago by marcR.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
1 month 6 days ago #6643 by RiverWanderer
Sequence is not precisely defined for TC cards beyond the broad restrictions of turn phase and therein lies some interesting ideas like the one that GG demonstrated. I don't see how further defining the sequence counts as simplification and I would be sorry to see this so-called loophole closed.

Look at it another way, it could be a powerful action but two TCs is a commensurate expense.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
1 month 6 days ago #6645 by Mark-McG
it seems much like a limited LGM move to me, but the important aspect is the the opponent gets the next action, so can react to the new situation.

Glory is fleeting, but obscurity is forever.
[img]

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
4 weeks 5 hours ago #6665 by smmalecek
I am pretty sure the rules say at the end of your turn you can discard a tactic card to move a General, if you go literal then you play your Tactic card then you can move Generals by discarding Tactic Cards

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Time to create page: 0.524 seconds

Forum Statistics

  • Total Users:824
  • Latest Member:mwitz
  • Total Posts:6664
  • Total Topics:751
  • Total Sections:2
  • Total Categories:14
  • Today Open:0
  • Yesterday Open:0
  • Today Answer:1
  • Yesterday Answer:4

Top Posters

Top Posters Posts
Bayernkini 1103
Mark-McG 913
Tarheel 257
GG 180
TheMP 175

Top Thanks

Top Thanks Thanks
Bayernkini 312
Mark-McG 81
GG 16
Grambo589 14
Tarheel 13

Random Quote

You do not get peace by shouting: Peace. Peace is a meaningless word; what we need is a glorious peace. ~Napoleon