ancients  battlecry  napoleonics  samuraibattles  thegreatwar    tricorne  redalert  medieval Support Us

Lancers versus Leader Orders a Fall Back card

More
1 week 1 day ago #5917 by gunner34
Lancers attack another cavalry unit with attached leader and defending player uses the Leader Orders a Fall Back tactician card-
Do the lancers get to reroll the flags or does the card effect of "only unit symbols will cause a hit" override it?

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
1 week 1 day ago - 1 week 1 day ago #5918 by Bayernkini

Do the lancers get to reroll the flags or does the card effect of "only unit symbols will cause a hit" override it?


In a normal close combat, a crossword hits an unit (except the units, which never hits with cross-sabers).
And this card simple override exact those basic rule only. Not more, no less

But i will crosscheck it with Richard for sure and add it to the FAQ.



Q: Because only unit symbols hits an unit and the flags are ignored for retreats, are the flags also ignored for the "Lancer reroll"?

A: ....

My dice are the hell!
Last edit: 1 week 1 day ago by Bayernkini.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
1 week 1 day ago #5919 by Mark-McG
I am uncertain on the answer here, but a relevant comparison is Elephants in Ancients, since Elephants re-roll Swords.

The FAQ states " Only symbols that match the evading unit will score a hit when a unit is evading, flags, swords and leader symbols and other unit type symbols will all miss. In addition, If a unit evades an attack from an elephant, since sword rolls "miss," the elephant does not re-roll sword rolls."

Taken from Ancients - Commands and Colors System website.
www.commandsandcolors.net/ancients/
Page title: Evasion (Unit and Leader evade) - Ancients - Commands and Colors System
Page link: www.commandsandcolors.net/ancients/the-g...nd-leader-evade.html

so I'm leaning towards Lancers NOT re-rolling flags.

In a way it would be cleaner if they did, since it doesn't create a rules exception, just both rules were applied.

Glory is fleeting, but obscurity is forever.
[img]

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
1 week 1 day ago - 1 week 1 day ago #5920 by gunner34
I went back and reread the lancer entry in Exp1
"Note the number of initial flags rolled in the initial melee and add this number to the number of flags rolled on the re-roll. Total number of flags rolled, plus all unit hits and sabers rolled are then applied to the defending unit."
So it would seem to me that you roll the dice, rerolling flags as neccesary, add it all up then apply the results to the target minus flags and swords as per the Tactician Card.

The issue came up before re; another Tactician card www.commandsandcolors.net/napoleonics/fo...-leader-tc.html#5674

The comments seemed to favor the reroll. I believe I saw something about it on another forum also, but now I can't seem to find it.
[edit] found it: boardgamegeek.com/thread/1972057/light-lancers-against-squares
It isn't exactly the same thing but I think it is relevant.
Last edit: 1 week 1 day ago by gunner34. Reason: Forgot to add another point.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • proyce
  • proyce's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Senior Boarder
  • Senior Boarder
  • Long time war gamer. Started with all the old Avalon Hill games back in the 60's.
More
1 week 5 hours ago #5921 by proyce
I would say to reroll flags. The card doesn't say anything about negating flag rolls, only negates saber rolls. Therefore flag rerolls would only hit on unit symbols, not sabers.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Time to create page: 0.352 seconds

Forum Statistics

  • Total Users:705
  • Latest Member:ColonelBob
  • Total Posts:5870
  • Total Topics:705
  • Total Sections:2
  • Total Categories:14
  • Today Open:0
  • Yesterday Open:0
  • Today Answer:0
  • Yesterday Answer:0

Top Posters

Top Posters Posts
Bayernkini 1098
Mark-McG 758
Tarheel 257
TheMP 171
Achtung-Panzer 171

Top Thanks

Top Thanks Thanks
Bayernkini 305
Mark-McG 73
Grambo589 14
Grondeaux 13
Barend 13

Random Quote

There are certain things in war of which the commander alone comprehends the importance. Nothing but his superior firmness and ability can subdue and surmount all difficulties.~Napoleon