ancients  battlecry  napoleonics  samuraibattles  thegreatwar    tricorne  redalert  medieval Support Us

Lancers v Square

More
1 year 3 months ago #5308 by TheMP
Lancers v Square was created by TheMP
Do lancers get a re-roll of flag versus a square?

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
1 year 3 months ago #5310 by Hawkmoon
Replied by Hawkmoon on topic Lancers v Square
I think so. The only unit where the flag is not rerolled is the Cuirassiers. Reroll doesn't count in battleback too.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
1 year 3 months ago #5311 by Mark-McG
Replied by Mark-McG on topic Lancers v Square
there is an inconclusive discussion on BGG
boardgamegeek.com/thread/1972057/light-lancers-against-squares

think we need an official answer on this one.

Glory is fleeting, but obscurity is forever.
[img]

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
1 year 3 months ago #5312 by TheMP
Replied by TheMP on topic Lancers v Square
Mark,

When it occurred in our game yesterday, I was initially surprised that I didn't KNOW the answer. It must be the first time its ever happened in my 250-300 games!! That seems unbelievable to me, but there you go. We searchED here, CSW and BGG. There was a short thread on the Geek as you have posted, but that was more opinion than solid fact. In the end, we let the re-roll go ahead (and it missed) so nothing was changed either way. But it would be good to know the 'truth' LOL

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
1 year 3 months ago #5313 by TheMP
Replied by TheMP on topic Lancers v Square
BTW both answers have their 'hard evidence' to draw from.

The square rules state that no more than one dice can ever be rolled against a square (except combined arms). The lancer rules state they always re-roll flags in attack (except against cuirassiers) and does not give a square as an exception.

Good barricades for both causes.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
1 year 3 months ago #5314 by Mark-McG
Replied by Mark-McG on topic Lancers v Square
I've added the question onto CSW with the hope that Richard will see it and respond.

My guess is that is rerolled, but it is a rather confounding question.

Glory is fleeting, but obscurity is forever.
[img]

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
1 year 3 months ago #5315 by TheMP
Replied by TheMP on topic Lancers v Square
And as you have played even more games than I, it seems you too have not had this happen in your games either :-) Strange eh?

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
1 year 3 months ago - 1 year 3 months ago #5316 by Bayernkini
Replied by Bayernkini on topic Lancers v Square

Q: Does a Lancer get a reroll against a Infantry in square, if he roll a flag with his die?


A: Yes - A lancer unit will reroll a flag when attacking a square (including flags of combined attack)

Richard Borg; 2018-06-24


So Richard´s intention here is, a Lancer reroll is not a "basic additional" die because of any cards e.g., but its a reroll of a battle result (flag symbol),
although the final result of the reroll can be an additional hit/retreat.

My dice are the hell!
Last edit: 1 year 3 months ago by Bayernkini.
The following user(s) said Thank You: RiverWanderer

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
1 year 3 months ago #5317 by TheMP
Replied by TheMP on topic Lancers v Square
Well done guys!

Well that is what we did I am glad to say and will do in the future.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Time to create page: 0.655 seconds

Forum Statistics

  • Total Users:719
  • Latest Member:blair2019
  • Total Posts:6021
  • Total Topics:712
  • Total Sections:2
  • Total Categories:14
  • Today Open:0
  • Yesterday Open:0
  • Today Answer:0
  • Yesterday Answer:0

Top Posters

Top Posters Posts
Bayernkini 1100
Mark-McG 783
Tarheel 257
TheMP 171
Achtung-Panzer 171

Top Thanks

Top Thanks Thanks
Bayernkini 308
Mark-McG 74
Grambo589 14
Grondeaux 13
Barend 13

Random Quote

In war there is but one favorable moment; the great art is to seize it!~Napoleon