ancients  battlecry  napoleonics  samuraibattles  thegreatwar Support Us 

Retreat of the board and Victory banners

More
4 months 1 week ago #4861 by redlancer38
redlancer38 created the topic: Retreat of the board and Victory banners
I think I've read that units that are forced to retreat off their own edge of the board do not count as victory points. Is this correct?

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
4 months 1 week ago - 4 months 1 week ago #4862 by Bayernkini
Bayernkini replied the topic: Retreat of the board and Victory banners
Blanket answer is "you are not correct"

Tell me an EXACT szenario situation, with the EXACT szenario notes,
then you can get indeed a more specific answer, what happens with this unit in exact this situation
(and i can refer to the exact passages in the rulebook and/or FAQ).

My dice are the hell!
Last Edit: 4 months 1 week ago by Bayernkini.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
4 months 1 week ago #4863 by redlancer38
redlancer38 replied the topic: Retreat of the board and Victory banners
Thanks for the reply Bayernkini. The situation was this: Russian foot artillery unit with two blocks remaining are one hex from their side of the board. They receives three flags from French foot artillery. The Russian guns retreat one hex for the first flag and that's fine. The second flag, however, would take the Russian blocks of the board. Whats the correct way to resolve this and how do victory banners work in this instance? Thanks again.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
4 months 1 week ago - 4 months 1 week ago #4864 by Bayernkini
Bayernkini replied the topic: Retreat of the board and Victory banners
What about this part of rulebook, page 13, left column (but read the complete Retreat section, for all possibilities)

• If the unit cannot retreat, because its retreat path is occupied or it is forced to retreat off the limits of the battlefield, one
block must be removed from the unit for each retreat hex of movement that cannot be completed.


and if you want know then, what happens with a unit, which loose all his blocks, read "range" or "melee" battle section
(the part with the dice symbols)
You can find the rules also here
www.commandsandcolors.net/napoleonics/th...equence-of-play.html

Then you have the answer for your depicted situation, it´s a basic situation and all basic rules apply.

My dice are the hell!
Last Edit: 4 months 1 week ago by Bayernkini.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
4 months 1 week ago #4872 by redlancer38
redlancer38 replied the topic: Retreat of the board and Victory banners
Thanks Bayernkini that sorts the problem out.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
4 months 1 week ago #4873 by Superman
Superman replied the topic: Retreat of the board and Victory banners
So the short answer is a "forced" retreat from the base line causes a block removal for each hex the unit cannot perform a retreat move. If all the blocks are removed, the unit is destroyed and your opponent gets a victory point.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Time to create page: 0.440 seconds

Forum Statistics

  • Total Users:591
  • Latest Member:derispaka25
  • Total Posts:4994
  • Total Topics:562
  • Total Sections:2
  • Total Categories:14
  • Today Open:0
  • Yesterday Open:0
  • Today Answer:0
  • Yesterday Answer:6

Top Posters

Top Posters Posts
Bayernkini 1050
Mark-McG 621
Tarheel 257
Achtung-Panzer 171
TheMP 162

Top Thanks

Top Thanks Thanks
Bayernkini 292
Mark-McG 52
Grambo589 14
Tarheel 13
Grondeaux 13

Random Quote

If the art of war were nothing but the art of avoiding risks, glory would become the prey of mediocre minds. I have made all the calculations, fate will do the rest.~Napoleon