Break The Square

More
4 years 6 months ago #3266 by alecrespi
Break The Square was created by alecrespi
BREAK THE SQUARE
{phocadocumentation view=navigation|type=mpcn}
 
...

Break The Square

Alessandro - Website Admin

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
3 years 11 months ago #3267 by Mark-McG
Replied by Mark-McG on topic Break The Square
Something that occurs to me, when this card is played, does the surviving unit actually leave Square, or is it still in square and just this attack is exceptional? I think the latter, but I can see how it could be the former.

Glory is fleeting, but obscurity is forever.
[img]

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
3 years 11 months ago #3270 by Bayernkini
Replied by Bayernkini on topic Break The Square
Card is ONLY a advantage for the attacking Cavalry, for the "square" Infantry all basic rules apply.
-So the INF goes and stay into square if it survives the "full block attack" of the Cavalry.

Nothing other says the card; The attacking Cavalry battle dice are not reduced!
No words, that the square is really unsquared, so no interpretations please (as often), playing the rules as worded.

My dice are the hell!

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
3 years 11 months ago #3271 by Mark-McG
Replied by Mark-McG on topic Break The Square

No words, that the square is really unsquared, so no interpretations please (as often), playing the rules as worded.


only the title, Break the square. Once a square breaks, I know of no historical instance where it reformed. Typically the infantry routed when the square broke, so it would actually make sense to have the infantry unsquare.
To me. it seems worth getting an official clarification on, because it could equally play that the unit unsquares without any particular disadvantage, and perhaps even an advantage to the infantry.

Glory is fleeting, but obscurity is forever.
[img]

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
3 years 11 months ago - 3 years 11 months ago #3272 by Bayernkini
Replied by Bayernkini on topic Break The Square
I´ll check it,
but if the card is indeed exact played as the text is written, then i dont add it to the FAQ, because players should always play the rules straight ahead as written, without any personally interpretations,
further i don´t know any card, which explaines the rules of the card with the title.

My dice are the hell!
Last edit: 3 years 11 months ago by Bayernkini.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
3 years 11 months ago - 3 years 11 months ago #3276 by Bayernkini
Replied by Bayernkini on topic Break The Square
(RB) A. An infantry in square will not lose its square formation, when the “Break The Square” Tactician card is played against the infantry unit in square.
(Richard Borg; 2016-02-14)

Clear worded on the cards description (Card titles never describes how any rule works), so adding this to the FAQ is not really necessary :)

My dice are the hell!
Last edit: 3 years 11 months ago by Bayernkini.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
3 years 11 months ago - 3 years 11 months ago #3278 by Grondeaux
Replied by Grondeaux on topic Break The Square
I want to make sure I've got this right, so please bear with me. Since the Break the Square card does not change the combat sequence, an INF vs CAV attack would go like this:
  1. The CAV unit declares the attack.
  2. The INF unit goes into square, and a command card is removed from the player's hand (unless an Austrian INF unit, forming a battalion mass)
  3. The INF unit rolls 1 combat die against the CAV. If the result is a bounce flag, the combat is over.
  4. The CAV unit now plays the Break the Square card.
  5. The CAV unit rolls normal combat dice against the INF unit.
That right?
Last edit: 3 years 11 months ago by Grondeaux.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
3 years 11 months ago #3279 by Bayernkini
Replied by Bayernkini on topic Break The Square
Exact :)

My dice are the hell!
The following user(s) said Thank You: Grondeaux

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
10 months 6 days ago #5706 by lowroller
Replied by lowroller on topic Break The Square
Does "The CAV unit rolls normal combat dice" also mean they can use command card bonuses, such as +1 for Elan or Cavalry Charge?

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
10 months 6 days ago #5707 by Bayernkini

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Time to create page: 0.785 seconds

Forum Statistics

  • Total Users:739
  • Latest Member:Mathamore dan
  • Total Posts:6173
  • Total Topics:712
  • Total Sections:2
  • Total Categories:14
  • Today Open:0
  • Yesterday Open:0
  • Today Answer:1
  • Yesterday Answer:4

Top Posters

Top Posters Posts
Bayernkini 1101
Mark-McG 815
Tarheel 257
TheMP 171
Achtung-Panzer 171

Top Thanks

Top Thanks Thanks
Bayernkini 308
Mark-McG 76
Grambo589 14
Grondeaux 13
Barend 13

Random Quote

Doctors will have more lives to answer for in the next world than even we generals.~Napoleon