Detaching from a general

More
2 weeks 2 days ago #7830 by Easyred2
Another quirk move showed up on a game replay.  

A command card is played and the player detaches from a leader to move up an infantry unit lleaving the attached general behind alone in the hex.  Seems to me it requires 2 activations.  One command to detach the general, and another separate command to the infantry moving on its own.  During videos, it appeared players were just detaching with no separate command given to the general to detach.  Only one command activation was used to move the infantry units up etc after detachment.

Am I wrong about requiring 2 activations to detach the leader and move the unit?  In these cases the leader never moved from the original "attached" hex.  He was simply left behind

reading the basic rules I found no example etc discussing the cost

Thanks all!

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
2 weeks 22 hours ago #7831 by Hawkmoon
Replied by Hawkmoon on topic Detaching from a general
Yes : 2 activations
One for the remaining leader in the starting hex
A second for the moving infantry

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
2 weeks 10 hours ago #7833 by Easyred2
Replied by Easyred2 on topic Detaching from a general
Thanks for verification.
How about the number of hexes, 3 adjacent to the commander, plus the one with the commander itself making possible 4 combat units? Or is it max of 3 units?

Ponder that and lets see what everyone thinks

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
1 week 6 days ago #7834 by Mark-McG
Replied by Mark-McG on topic Detaching from a general

Another quirk move showed up on a game replay.  

A command card is played and the player detaches from a leader to move up an infantry unit lleaving the attached general behind alone in the hex.  Seems to me it requires 2 activations.  One command to detach the general, and another separate command to the infantry moving on its own.  During videos, it appeared players were just detaching with no separate command given to the general to detach.  Only one command activation was used to move the infantry units up etc after detachment.

 

www.commandsandcolors.net/napoleonics/th...r-your-units-leaders
2nd dot point covers EXACTLY your question. 

​​​​​​​where are these videos that you are looking at? They seem to be leading you astray.
The written rules are pretty clear on this, and it strikes me that some video replay is a secondary source, and apparently a very suspect secondary source.

 

Glory is fleeting, but obscurity is forever.
[img][/img]

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Time to create page: 0.236 seconds

Forum Statistics

  • Total Users:946
  • Latest Member:Fabbrizi
  • Total Posts:7767
  • Total Topics:866
  • Total Sections:2
  • Total Categories:14
  • Today Open:0
  • Yesterday Open:0
  • Today Answer:0
  • Yesterday Answer:3

Top Posters

Top Posters Posts
Bayernkini 1118
Mark-McG 1091
Tarheel 263
RiverWanderer 200
GG 200

Top Thanks

Top Thanks Thanks
Bayernkini 320
Mark-McG 113
GG 20
RiverWanderer 15
Grambo589 14

Random Quote

The science of strategy is only to be acquired by experience, and by studying the campaigns of all the great captains.~Maxims LXXVII