Must cavalry always move their full number of hexes? The rules show movement as 1-3 hexes which for me means that they can move less if they want. This would then also apply to retreat; 1 Flag would only require a minimum of movement backwards of 1 hex. Thanks for clarifying.
Ordered Light cavalry can move 0-3 hexes, any of those.
They MUST retreat the number of hexes in the Unit description. Usually it is 1 hex per flag they cannot ignore, nut Spanish retreat 2 hexes per flag, militia cavalry 3 hexes. Retreat moves must be taken in full.
Glory is fleeting, but obscurity is forever.