I have a question on the special rules for victory banners for this game. The first special rule states that the 4 town hexes and church give the French 2 temporary victory banners when the French occupy the majority of these hexes. Then the next sentence says. " The French start the battle with 2 Victory Banners". Are these 2 Victory Banners permanent? i.e. unrelated to the temporary victory banners for the towns and church. I ask because if one looks at the initial deployment of the French they do not have the majority of the town hexes and church. They have only 2 out of 5
Temporary Majority Victory Banner Objective Hexes
The Victory Banner for this group of objective hexes is immediately
gained when the appropriate side has units occupying an absolute
majority of hexes in the group. Absolute majority means to occupy
more of these objective hexes than your opponent. Occupying one
hex and the opponent occupies none, for example, would be the absolute majority. The Victory Banner is retained as long as the
side has the absolute majority. The Victory Banner is immediately
lost when a side no longer has an absolute majority.
1. Temporary: you get the VP if a player complied the conditions, if not, he loose the VP immediately. This can happen more times during a game.
2. Majority: Means not, you must occupy the majority of 5 hexes (3), it means,
you must occupy more hexes than opponent.
So it´s would be enough here, to occupy 1 hex, so far the opponent occupy 0 hexes.
3. The French start therefore the game with 2VP, because they have the majority of all stated hexes. If they don´t have the majority during game, they loose this VP again, because Number 1, Temporary.