First Strike and Squares

More
6 years 6 months ago #1418 by Grondeaux
Here's the situation:

A cavalry unit attacks an infantry unit.

Can the infantry unit play a First Strike card, and then Form Square? I think the answer is "no," and that you can either form a square OR play the First Strike card. But the rules don't specifically say that. It was my opponent's birthday today, so I let him get away with it. For today, anyway.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
6 years 6 months ago #1419 by Freeloading-Phill
I think the answer is yes but the result is not what your opponent thinks it is.

All that either does is allow the infantry to attack first in the combat sequence so by the time the infantry are able to use their First Strike they are in square and down to using 1 dice.

Phill
The following user(s) said Thank You: Grondeaux

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
6 years 6 months ago #1420 by Bayernkini
Replied by Bayernkini on topic First Strike and Squares
If you decide to Play First Strike, you cant go into square after this!

My dice are the hell!

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
6 years 6 months ago - 6 years 6 months ago #1421 by Bayernkini
Replied by Bayernkini on topic First Strike and Squares
www.boardgamegeek.com/article/13986650#13986650

Still missing this answer on the FAQ here, but we will
update it immediately.

Q: If a Cavalry unit attacks an Infantry unit and the Infantry plays a "First Strike" card, may the Infantry form Square then.

A: No; If the Infantry Play a "FS", they accept the "full" battle of the attacker, if the attacker is not destroyed or forced to retreat.

But if the Infantry is forced to retreat by the CAV attack, the INF may form square, if the CAV makes a Cavalry Breakthrough and battles again the INF (because this is a "new" battle).

My dice are the hell!
Last edit: 6 years 6 months ago by Bayernkini.
The following user(s) said Thank You: Grondeaux

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
6 years 6 months ago #1424 by Achtung-Panzer

Bayernkini wrote: But if the Infantry is forced to retreat by the CAV attack, the INF may form square, if the CAV makes a Cavalry Breakthrough and battles again the INF (because this is a "new" battle).


Good point - I hadn't realised that.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • alecrespi
  • Visitor
  • Visitor
6 years 6 months ago #1425 by alecrespi
Replied by alecrespi on topic First Strike and Squares
Just added this Q&A into FAQ section.
Thank you for your notes.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
6 years 6 months ago - 6 years 6 months ago #1426 by Bayernkini
Replied by Bayernkini on topic First Strike and Squares

Good point - I hadn't realised that.


It´s same with using 2 First Strikes: If a Cavalry battles first attack and makes a Breakthrough and battles a second attack, we have 2 own battles.
In each battle the Defender can decide new, if he play a First Strike OR form a Square!
So it´s possible, that the Defender plays 2 FS against the same (Cavalry) Attacker, one in Initial Attack, second in breakthroug Attack :), but this is already in the FAQ.

My dice are the hell!
Last edit: 6 years 6 months ago by Bayernkini.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Time to create page: 0.649 seconds

Forum Statistics

  • Total Users:823
  • Latest Member:KryspinTrych
  • Total Posts:6659
  • Total Topics:751
  • Total Sections:2
  • Total Categories:14
  • Today Open:0
  • Yesterday Open:0
  • Today Answer:0
  • Yesterday Answer:1

Top Posters

Top Posters Posts
Bayernkini 1103
Mark-McG 912
Tarheel 257
GG 180
TheMP 175

Top Thanks

Top Thanks Thanks
Bayernkini 312
Mark-McG 81
GG 16
Grambo589 14
Tarheel 13

Random Quote

Soldiers generally win battles; generals get credit for them. ~Napoleon