A leader without a way of escape

More
6 years 11 months ago - 6 years 11 months ago #1210 by Hawkmoon-von-Köln
Hi Comrades !
We've been playing Maloyaroslavets with Guillaume yesterday and a strange situation occured :
A french unit with leader was on a hex with 2 river (impassable) behind them.
The unit was destroyed and the leader had to flee but couldn't do that because of the river so we decided that he was killed with his unit.
It's written in the core rules that a leader has to retreat 1,2 or 3 hex in this kind of situation. So with "zero" hex, we thought that he had to be eliminated...
Are we right (or wrong) ?
Greetings from Le Mans

We ride the tricycles
of true metal of steel
While others bands play,
we eat happy meal
In the forest of minerals,
The posers we kill !
Nanowar of Steel (Blood of the Queens)
Last edit: 6 years 11 months ago by Hawkmoon-von-Köln.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
6 years 11 months ago #1211 by Bayernkini
If you read the complete Retreat rules (page 14)

Terrain that is not impassable has no effect on retreat moves,
therefore a retreating leader may move onto or through a forest,
a fordable river, etc., without stopping. Impassable terrain will
prevent a retreat movement, and a leader unable to retreat one
hex due to impassible terrain will be eliminated. The opponent
gains one Victory Banner when the leader is eliminated.


You will find for sure the answer ;)

and yes, the LDR in your example was eliminated therefore ;)

My dice are the hell!
The following user(s) said Thank You: Hawkmoon-von-Köln

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
6 years 11 months ago #1212 by Hawkmoon-von-Köln
As usual...
Thanks a lot once again Michael...
RTFM !(For myself)
Seems to be tired or lazy (maybe because I'm on holidays or I didn't have read the good section in the rules).
Rules are clear and logical.
Bye

We ride the tricycles
of true metal of steel
While others bands play,
we eat happy meal
In the forest of minerals,
The posers we kill !
Nanowar of Steel (Blood of the Queens)

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
6 years 6 months ago #1467 by Bayernkini
Another Situation which is possible, but answer is not clear in rulebook.

I checked also CCA rulebook/website, in which same situation is also possible, but there is also no clear answer so far.


After a battle, a Leader is forced to retreat, but his 2 retreat hexes are blocked by one enemy unit (Cavalry) and the other hex by one single enemy Leader:
The escaping Leader choose the path via the enemy Leader, to prevent the battle dice "escape roll" of the Cavalry.


Q: Can an retreating Leader escape through a hex with an enemy Leader, and if yes, how many battle dice would be thrown in this case?

Question sent to Richard, official answer following soon here :)

My dice are the hell!
The following user(s) said Thank You: Hawkmoon-von-Köln

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
6 years 6 months ago #1479 by Bayernkini
Just got the answer from Richard:

Q: Can a retreating Leader escape through a hex with a lone enemy Leader?
A. Yes


Q. If a leader can escape through a hex with a lone enemy Leader, how many dice would the lone enemy leader roll?
A. The leader when alone does not battle, so no dice are rolled.

My dice are the hell!
The following user(s) said Thank You: Hawkmoon-von-Köln

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Time to create page: 0.493 seconds

Forum Statistics

  • Total Users:824
  • Latest Member:mwitz
  • Total Posts:6666
  • Total Topics:751
  • Total Sections:2
  • Total Categories:14
  • Today Open:0
  • Yesterday Open:0
  • Today Answer:2
  • Yesterday Answer:1

Top Posters

Top Posters Posts
Bayernkini 1103
Mark-McG 913
Tarheel 257
GG 180
TheMP 175

Top Thanks

Top Thanks Thanks
Bayernkini 312
Mark-McG 81
GG 16
Grambo589 14
Grondeaux 13

Random Quote

In war, three-quarters turns on personal character and relations; the balance of manpower and materials counts only for the remaining quarter.~Napoleon