Redoubts

More
7 years 7 months ago #1045 by Bernard-Stuart
Redoubts was created by Bernard-Stuart
The new Russian expansion introduces redoubts which can be placed round existing terrain, such a hill or a town. The core terrain rules have examples of a redoubt around a hill, in which case it says you disregard the effect of the hill and use the redoubt dice reduction. This makes sense because the reduction for a hill is the same or worse than a redoubt, so the redoubt gives better protection than the hill.

However, now the Russian is allowed to put a redoubt around a town hex. This seems to make less sense, because the town actually gives better protection than a redoubt. The redoubt does allow the unit in it to ignore 1 flag, but the Russian infantry ignore one flag anyway. The Russian expansion rules for 2 and 4 sided redoubts show them around a hill and refer to the core rules, but those core rules do not mention towns. Does the same rule apply to towns?

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
7 years 7 months ago #1046 by Bayernkini
Replied by Bayernkini on topic Redoubts

The new Russian expansion introduces redoubts which can be placed round existing terrain

This rule is not clear in rulebook, but because of a request to GMT,
this "Mother Russia" 2-sided fieldwork can ONLY be placed to a
HILL - FOREST - TOWN without any existing fieldworks!
So you are not allowed to place this fieldwork on a bridge hex or a
church hex for example ;)

The redoubt does allow the unit in it to ignore 1 flag, but the Russian infantry ignore one flag anyway.

There are still russians, which can´t ignore a flag, e.g. MI, ART which can benefit then from this fieldwork :whistle:

The Russian expansion rules for 2 and 4 sided redoubts show them around a hill and refer to the core rules, but those core rules do not mention towns.

This 3-/4-sided fieldworks are not new, they are available since the Spanish expansion.
And the 3-/4-sided fieldworks are only available for hills and forests, not for towns, which simple means, towns with 3-/4-side fieldworks are not allowed (so far) :)

My dice are the hell!

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
7 years 7 months ago #1048 by Hawkmoon-von-Köln
Replied by Hawkmoon-von-Köln on topic Redoubts
I think that russian infantry protected by redoubts can ignore one more flag (for exemple 2 flags for Line Infantry and 4 with a general and support).

We ride the tricycles
of true metal of steel
While others bands play,
we eat happy meal
In the forest of minerals,
The posers we kill !
Nanowar of Steel (Blood of the Queens)

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
7 years 7 months ago #1049 by Bayernkini
Replied by Bayernkini on topic Redoubts
Right, in CCNapo the "ignore flag" rules stacks,
so the units may in some cases ignore more than 1 flag.

My dice are the hell!

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Time to create page: 0.451 seconds

Forum Statistics

  • Total Users:824
  • Latest Member:mwitz
  • Total Posts:6666
  • Total Topics:751
  • Total Sections:2
  • Total Categories:14
  • Today Open:0
  • Yesterday Open:0
  • Today Answer:2
  • Yesterday Answer:1

Top Posters

Top Posters Posts
Bayernkini 1103
Mark-McG 913
Tarheel 257
GG 180
TheMP 175

Top Thanks

Top Thanks Thanks
Bayernkini 312
Mark-McG 81
GG 16
Grambo589 14
Tarheel 13

Random Quote

Two armies are two bodies which meet and try to frighten each other.~Napoleon