Attacking square, bounce back and combined arms

More
9 years 5 months ago #480 by LNAGary
We've been discussing it at BGG here: boardgamegeek.com/thread/648246/square-attack-and-combined-arms and here: boardgamegeek.com/thread/597971/two-qwic...tions-abhout-squares

So here is the question:

Can an infantry unit in square do a combined arms attack with artillery?

If so, do you roll the infantry die separate from the artillery dice, with only the infantry die providing a possible bounce flag?

I'd like an official answer on it as there are a lot of discussion and interpretation about it.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
9 years 5 months ago #481 by Hawkmoon-von-Köln
Hi
When making a combinated attack, dices are rolled together from both unit so I think that you have to roll the dices one time for this kind of attack.

We ride the tricycles
of true metal of steel
While others bands play,
we eat happy meal
In the forest of minerals,
The posers we kill !
Nanowar of Steel (Blood of the Queens)

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
9 years 5 months ago - 9 years 5 months ago #483 by LNAGary
The official reply from Mr Borg was given to us by KDuke:

kduke wrote: Richard Borg has confirmed his exchange with Brady.


[q]> 1. Will an attacking infantry unit in square "bounce" an adjacent defending enemy cavalry unit if it rolls a flag on its one die against in melee?[/q]

(RB) The Bounce Flag rule on page 16 states:
When the infantry unit in square rolls a flag against a cavalry unit, it will force the cavalry unit to bounce away from the square.

The rule as written, does not depend on which player is taking his turn. Therefore any melee combat that an infantry unit in square rolls a flag against a cavalry unit, the cavalry unit must retreat. We used the term Bounce Flag so players could better identify flags that infantry in square roll against cavalry, play a little different.

The example on page 17 - Example of Attacking an Infantry Square - repeats three times the fact that when an infantry unit rolls a flag against a cavalry unit the cavalry unit must retreat. All flags rolled in melee by an infantry unit in square against an enemy cavalry unit are considered Bounce Flags.

[q]> 2a. May an ordered infantry square take part in a combined arms attack with friendly artillery?[/q]

(RB) The Combined Arms Combat rule on page 18 states:
When an ordered infantry or cavalry unit is about to attack an enemy unit in melee, one or more ordered artillery units may combined their battle dice with the attacking unit.

An infantry unit in square can use the Combined Arms Combat rule.

[q]> 2b. If so, how is a combined arms attack with an attacking infantry unit in square resolved?[/q]

(RB) The artillery's battle dice are added to the infantry in square battle die. All the dice are rolled together. When the combined arms dice are rolled, sabers will score a hit even though the artillery unit is not in melee. In addition all flags rolled against the cavalry are considered Bounce Flags (flags that cannot be ignored).

Last edit: 9 years 5 months ago by LNAGary.
The following user(s) said Thank You: RiverWanderer

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Time to create page: 0.517 seconds

Forum Statistics

  • Total Users:823
  • Latest Member:KryspinTrych
  • Total Posts:6659
  • Total Topics:751
  • Total Sections:2
  • Total Categories:14
  • Today Open:0
  • Yesterday Open:0
  • Today Answer:0
  • Yesterday Answer:1

Top Posters

Top Posters Posts
Bayernkini 1103
Mark-McG 912
Tarheel 257
GG 180
TheMP 175

Top Thanks

Top Thanks Thanks
Bayernkini 312
Mark-McG 81
GG 16
Grambo589 14
Tarheel 13

Random Quote

The most important qualification of a soldier is fortitude under fatigue and privation. Courage is only second; hardship, poverty and want are the best school for a soldier.~Napoleon