Bayonet Charge into melee only

More
9 years 5 months ago #474 by Achtung-Panzer
I previously asked a question about HC being able to move 3 hexes without moving into melee using the Cavalry Charge card. It was clear that this was permissable.

I now wonder about Infantry units moving 2 hexes but not going into melee using the Bayonet Charge card. I don't think that this is possible and that an Infantry unit can only be ordered if it moves into melee.

Am I correct?

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
9 years 5 months ago - 9 years 5 months ago #475 by Bayernkini
Battles are always optional, except a special rule/card say another rule explicitly.

So with Bayonet Charge you MAY move 2 hex and you MAY battle, but you must not

(See the Double Time card on CCA for example: the card says there explicitly,
that a warrior unit may moves 3 BUT MUST then battle).

My dice are the hell!
Last edit: 9 years 5 months ago by Bayernkini.
The following user(s) said Thank You: Achtung-Panzer

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
9 years 5 months ago - 9 years 5 months ago #476 by Achtung-Panzer
So the card can be used to simply move 4 Infantry units 2 hexes. No contact / melee is required (and range combat is not allowed). It can be a movement rather than combat card.

This may be technically correct but it seems strange to order a bayonet charge with no enemy in range. I guess it represents a charge to scare the enemy, as many units would run from a bayonet charge and not stand.

I may use a House Rule so only Infantry within 2 hexes of an enemy unit can be ordered by the Bayonet Charge card.
Last edit: 9 years 5 months ago by Achtung-Panzer.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
9 years 5 months ago #477 by Oleg
Of couse, you may ;)

If you want to win the fight, say - "I believe!"

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Time to create page: 0.288 seconds

Forum Statistics

  • Total Users:823
  • Latest Member:KryspinTrych
  • Total Posts:6659
  • Total Topics:751
  • Total Sections:2
  • Total Categories:14
  • Today Open:0
  • Yesterday Open:0
  • Today Answer:0
  • Yesterday Answer:1

Top Posters

Top Posters Posts
Bayernkini 1103
Mark-McG 912
Tarheel 257
GG 180
TheMP 175

Top Thanks

Top Thanks Thanks
Bayernkini 312
Mark-McG 81
GG 16
Grambo589 14
Tarheel 13

Random Quote

There is no man more pusillanimous than I when I am planning a campaign. I purposely exaggerate all the dangers and all the calamities that the circumstances make possible. I am in a thoroughly painful state of agitation. This does not keep me from looking quite serene in front of my entourage; I am like an unmarried girl laboring with child. Once I have made up my mind, everything is forgotten except what leads to success.~Napoleon