Guerrilla Action and Epic

More
3 years 2 months ago - 3 years 2 months ago #4884 by Grondeaux
How does the Spanish Guerrilla Action work in Epic? Does a successful Guerrilla Action cancel a single Command Card of the French, or does it cancel their entire turn?

The Guerrilla action rules, written before Epic, are ambiguous here. They refer to canceling the French player's Command Card. They also say, "The Spanish player may elect to spend one Guerrilla Action counter to stop all French orders from being issued on any given French turn..."

If it makes any difference, we're playing a two-person Epic game (Talavera).
Last edit: 3 years 2 months ago by Grondeaux.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
3 years 2 months ago #4885 by Mark-McG
Replied by Mark-McG on topic Guerrilla Action and Epic
In an EPIC Napoleonics game with 3 Corps commanders and a CIC player, the Spanish Guerrilla counters listed in the scenario Special Rules are divided equally between the three Corps commander players. When the Spanish Guerrilla counters cannot be divided equally, the CIC will assign any extra Spanish Guerilla counters to his Corps commanders.
A Spanish Guerrilla counter that a Corps commander holds may only be played in an attempt to nullify a Command card played by his opponent in his section.
Note: If the section of the battlefield a player commands does not have at least four Spanish units, the player will not receive a Spanish Guerrilla counter at the start of a battle. When playing a Scout card, a player may only gain a Spanish Guerrilla counter, when a player’s battlefield section has at least four Spanish units.

www.commandsandcolors.net/napoleonics/th...les-expansion-6.html

so in 2 & 4 player mode I'd say also only 1 Command Card, and only in one Section

Glory is fleeting, but obscurity is forever.
[img]
The following user(s) said Thank You: Grondeaux

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
3 years 1 month ago - 3 years 1 month ago #4900 by Bayernkini
Basic rules still always apply, e.g. if the basic rule say, a canceled and discarded, this apply also in the Epic/LGM rules.

Further i got some more explanations from Richard, i´ll add it next to the FAQ.
Until this happens, raw text of Richards answer here:




Clarifications - Spanish Guerrilla Action - EPIC & La Grande Battles
• Only one Guerrilla Action counter may be played on the French player’s turn in an attempt to stop one French Command card being played. If one French Command card is stopped, the second Command card is still played.

• In a La Grande Battles Napoleonic scenario, a multi-section Command card (Recon in Force, Coordinated Advance, Flank Attack and Forward) is given to a Corps commander and therefore may be stopped by the play of a Guerrilla Action counter. As the rule is written, a Guerrilla counter that a Corps commander holds may only be player in an attempt to nullify a Command card played by his opponent in his section.

• In an EPIC Napoleonic scenario, a multi-section Command card (Recon in Force, Coordinated Advance, Flank Attack and Forward) cannot be stopped by the play of a Guerrilla Action counter. Basically, a multi-section Command card in an EPIC scenario is not given to a player and therefore is not played in one section. To keep the rule the same for all EPIC player versions (2, 4, 6, and 8 players) a multi-section Command card cannot be stopped by the play of a Guerrilla Action counter.


Rule Correction
EPIC Napoleonic Expansion #6 Rules - La Grande Battle Corps Command Stars
Page 13 - First Column top of page - original text reads “draw one Command card or draw one Tactician card”, the “or" should read “and”

Correct Text - Important Note 2: When a player does not order any units and/or leaders to March Move, the Corps commander may draw one Command card and draw one Tactician card at the end of the turn.

What this means, is when playing a La Grande Battles scenario and the Corps commander does not use the Corps Command Stars to March Move units, the player will draw one Command card and one Tactician card. Note at the bottom of a Scout, Leadership and Elan Command card it also instruct a player to draw a Tactician card at the end of the turn. It is therefore possible that a player would draw two Tactician cards at the end of the turn.

Generals Marshals & Tacticians Command Deck - Gaining Guerrilla Action Counter
When playing a battle with the 90 card deck of Generals Marshals & Tacticians Command cards the rules on how to gain additional Guerrilla Action counters are revised as follows:
During a battle a player (standard scenario), CIC or a Corps Commander (EPIC & La Grande Battles) may acquire one additional Guerrilla Action counter each time he plays a Scout Command card. With the following restrictions:
• Instead of drawing two Command cards at the end of the turn, the player only draws one Command card and one Tactician card.
• The 3 Corps Command Stars may not have been used to March Move units.
• Also in an EPIC and La Grande Battles scenario, the player must also have at least four Spanish units in his section(s) to gain a Guerrilla Action counter.

Hope this helps…

Richard Borg
2017-08-29

My dice are the hell!
Last edit: 3 years 1 month ago by Bayernkini.
The following user(s) said Thank You: Grondeaux, Hawkmoon

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
3 years 1 month ago #4906 by Hawkmoon
Replied by Hawkmoon on topic Guerrilla Action and Epic
Thank you for this explanation, Bayernkini. We're gonna play Austerlitz "Grande Battle" next WE during a convention at the Royal Abbey of Epau near Le Mans and it will help a lot !!!

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Time to create page: 0.725 seconds

Forum Statistics

  • Total Users:824
  • Latest Member:mwitz
  • Total Posts:6664
  • Total Topics:751
  • Total Sections:2
  • Total Categories:14
  • Today Open:0
  • Yesterday Open:0
  • Today Answer:1
  • Yesterday Answer:4

Top Posters

Top Posters Posts
Bayernkini 1103
Mark-McG 913
Tarheel 257
GG 180
TheMP 175

Top Thanks

Top Thanks Thanks
Bayernkini 312
Mark-McG 81
GG 16
Grambo589 14
Tarheel 13

Random Quote

What my enemies call a general peace is my destruction. What I call peace is merely the disarmament of my enemies. Am I not more moderate than they?~Napoleon