Infantry Combat First Tactician card

More
4 years 7 months ago #3392 by Gallagher
Wow its like this card doesn't exist- it is not mentioned anywhere in FAQs/ BGG/GMT, which tells me no one else has an issue with it. I have looked- very frustrating.
I have an opponent that takes text quite literally, and as rules often rely on that, this question is not as nonsensical and it sounds.
The Tactician Card Infantry Combat First states that "...your infantry will battle first. If opponent's unit is not eliminated or retreats it may then battle as originally ordered". Odd phrasing- Using "first" tells me it is just reversing the order. However if you squint hard one might think the original ordered attack was a normal attack/battle back sequence according to my opponent---Sooo, the defender WOULD GET TO FIRST Attack and THEN BATTLE BACK if still there and in contact!
First Strike has almost the same language
Yeah the "battle first" should give it away but better phrasing would help.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
4 years 7 months ago - 4 years 7 months ago #3393 by Bayernkini
NO unit may battle more than once in a single battle (any Cav breakthrough and second battle is a "new" battle).
This is a iron/non changeable basic rule, which apply not only to the FS card, but also to ALL other existing or future rules (not only command cards and tactician cards, but also to any other special rules, which have the same effect) and therefore the FAQ is found in the Basic & Battle

www.commandsandcolors.net/napoleonics/th.../faqs/57-battle.html

First entry

So only the order of battle change, defender first instead second and versa

Yeah the "battle first" should give it away but better phrasing would help.

It´s not always the card phrasing. The familiar C&C players (who plays also some ohter first CC games e.g. MM44) know this, because in each system
Battlecry, Memoir 44, CCA, Battlelore, we have/had always the same "special players" interpretations, and in all these CC games we have already the same FAQ answer ;)

And i can bet with you, if we got the next CC system (AWI), and there is also a First Strike Card, we will get the same "special player" interpretation again because they say any like this "You can´t compare this new FS not with the FS cards of the existing other C&C systems, because we have now a complete new game).

PS. and here one of the threads (there are some more) on BGG, which answered it already (and said in short form, what i say above with some more words ;) )
www.boardgamegeek.com/article/6270359#6270359

My dice are the hell!
Last edit: 4 years 7 months ago by Bayernkini.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
4 years 7 months ago #3394 by Gallagher
This was a great help and makes perfect sense, thanks

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Time to create page: 0.361 seconds

Forum Statistics

  • Total Users:824
  • Latest Member:mwitz
  • Total Posts:6666
  • Total Topics:751
  • Total Sections:2
  • Total Categories:14
  • Today Open:0
  • Yesterday Open:0
  • Today Answer:2
  • Yesterday Answer:1

Top Posters

Top Posters Posts
Bayernkini 1103
Mark-McG 913
Tarheel 257
GG 180
TheMP 175

Top Thanks

Top Thanks Thanks
Bayernkini 312
Mark-McG 81
GG 16
Grambo589 14
Tarheel 13

Random Quote

The basic principle that we must follow in directing the armies of the Republic is this: that they must feed themselves on war at the expense of the enemy territory. ~Napoleon