Unattached Leader: A leader alone in a hex may not be targeted in ranged combat but an unattached leader may be attacked in melee. When a leader is alone in a hex, the attacking enemy unit rolls its normal melee battle dice. One or more saber symbols rolled will score a hit and eliminate the leader, even from a unit that normally does not score a hit on a saber roll in melee combat.
If the leader is not hit, the leader must retreat 1, 2, or 3 hexes.
Flags rolled against the leader have no effect on the unattached leader. The attacking unit may Take Ground into the vacated hex, after the leader retreats from the hex.
Glory is fleeting, but obscurity is forever.
Mark, Thanks, I actually found that rule. But Is there a rule or FAQ that tells us that leaders are treated like cavalry for melee?
It makes sense. Perhaps in leader movement. Until then, by omission- they do not get to retire and reform.
Seems odd, no?
• A Leader is not a unit, and is represented by a single block.
you will find it for sure in the rulebook, on page 7, left column
Therefore all rules (basic rules, cards e.g.) wich apply for units don´t apply to Leaders!
As Mark already said, the battle mechanics of a Leader are clear described into the rulebooks.
But you can always use houserules for your games, because it´s your game
I know you have had the answer alreasy but I was interested in what you and your friends had come up with to how they would ever be killed/captured. If he retired and reformed that would prevent sabre hits and there are no Leader symbols on the dice?