First of all let me state that I have carried out a search of the forum posts without success for the answer to this, so hopefully I am not wasting anybody's time.
I have completed reading the rules and have gone through skimming here and there afterwards as well. I am going to get a practice game or two on the table this weekend so as to get a proper feel for it before a friend and I go face-to-face.
I wanted to ask about leaders. I can see that their presence with a unit negates 1 x banner retreat hex and I believe they also add one dice to melee combat (from memory as I do not have the rules with me right now). I notice they can also, even when on their own, stop a unit retreating into their hex.
Do they have any other effect ? Thanks guys. Hopefully, also over the weekend I can put a bit more about myself here too
Movement in Hexes: 1-3 if alone; if attached to a unit it moves as the unit.
Battle: If alone, it may not battle. If attached to a unit it will modify the number of dice a unit will roll when a Leadership card is played—unit rolls one additional die
• If alone = none (must retreat after surviving a melee attack, and will attempt to escape through enemy units, if retreat path is occupied by enemy units)
• The unit, a Leader is attached to, may ignore one flag, if unit does retreat, Leader must retreat with unit.
When playing a scenario with two different nationalities on the same side (such as Austro-Russian or Dutch-British), do leaders from the same side help ALL units on their side no matter what the nationality. Again for example, does the Prince of Orange at Quatre Bras assist Red British units?
If not, is there a rules reference you can provide.
Read over and over again the campaigns of Alexander, Hannibal, Caesar, Gustavus, Turenne, Eugene and Frederic. ... This is the only way to become a great general and master the secrets of the art of war.~Napoleon