6 units in square

More
3 years 1 month ago #4914 by Superman
6 units in square was created by Superman
With the new Epic rules which allow possibly up to 6 units in square at one time, I was wondering if anyone has ever done that. I've played every game now in every expansion at least twice and have never had that many units in square. In most games I would have only 1 or maybe 2 at most in square. I think in all the games I've played there was only one in which I had 4 units in square, and that was not an Epic scenario.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • proyce
  • proyce's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Senior Boarder
  • Senior Boarder
  • Long time war gamer. Started with all the old Avalon Hill games back in the 60's.
More
3 years 1 month ago #4915 by proyce
Replied by proyce on topic 6 units in square
I haven't played any Epic games yet. I have played all the way through the Austrian expansion, with multiple plays of many scenarios (especially in the base game). The most units I have seen in square has been 3, and that was only a couple of times. However, in one of the Austrian scenarios I had the maximum in battalion mass - it was limited to 5 units - and could have put 2 more into battalion mass if it were allowed.
So yes, I haven't had a full complement of units in square so far. Sometimes I do not form square when maybe I should, hoping the opponent doesn't roll too many hits, as I don't want my hand of command cards limited to 2, or because I have a very important card to play on my next turn and I don't want it relegated to the square track. It is a balancing act sometimes.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
3 years 1 month ago - 3 years 1 month ago #4916 by Superman
Replied by Superman on topic 6 units in square
proyce, why were you limited to only 5 units in battalion mass? I didn't think there was any limit to the number of Austrian Line units you could put in battalion mass? Was it a special rule for the scenario you were playing?
The decision to place units in square can certainly be difficult at times. The one time I had 4 units in square is because my opponent used a cavalry charge but didn't have his infantry far enough up to be a danger yet. If the threat is only from cavalry I will almost always put my units in square. If I'm playing the Austrian I will almost always place my line infantry in battalion mass because you don't have to give up a command card and at 5 blocks in the unit you stand a good chance of outlasting the attacking cavalry.
Last edit: 3 years 1 month ago by Superman.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
3 years 1 month ago #4917 by Bayernkini
Replied by Bayernkini on topic 6 units in square

I didn't think there was any limit to the number of Austrian Line units you could put in battalion mass? Was it a special rule for the scenario you were playing?


There is a limit of units, you can have in battalion mass ;)

www.commandsandcolors.net/napoleonics/th...nic-expansion-3.html

My dice are the hell!

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
3 years 1 month ago - 3 years 1 month ago #4918 by Achtung Panzer
Replied by Achtung Panzer on topic 6 units in square
Battalion Mass Limit = number of C-in-C command cards -1 Woops, getting confused with units in square limit.
Last edit: 3 years 1 month ago by Achtung Panzer.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
3 years 1 month ago #4919 by Bayernkini
Replied by Bayernkini on topic 6 units in square

Battalion Mass Limit = number of C-in-C command cards -1


WHY -1 ???

Reading rules first, before posting, would be always the better choice ;)

My dice are the hell!
The following user(s) said Thank You: Achtung Panzer

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
3 years 1 month ago #4920 by Superman
Replied by Superman on topic 6 units in square
True, number of units in battalion mass is limited by number of command cards at start of battle. This is one of those cases in which I had forgotten that rule but it never mattered in any of the games I played because we never came close to exceeding that limit. My opponent and I would use our cavalry to attack mainly enemy artillery or cavalry, and if we did attack infantry we would prioritize attacking Grenzers, Grenadiers, or Militia over Line units. And the fact that the Austrians always started with at least 4 command cards made it very improbable that we would ever get more than 4 Line units in battalion mass. But as proyce pointed out the situation is possible, so I'm glad I started this thread to remind me of a rule I had forgotten (even though I never came close to violating it). Thanks. Now back to the original question, has anyone ever had 6 units in square (not battalion mass) at one time?

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Time to create page: 0.637 seconds

Forum Statistics

  • Total Users:823
  • Latest Member:KryspinTrych
  • Total Posts:6659
  • Total Topics:751
  • Total Sections:2
  • Total Categories:14
  • Today Open:0
  • Yesterday Open:0
  • Today Answer:0
  • Yesterday Answer:1

Top Posters

Top Posters Posts
Bayernkini 1103
Mark-McG 912
Tarheel 257
GG 180
TheMP 175

Top Thanks

Top Thanks Thanks
Bayernkini 312
Mark-McG 81
GG 16
Grambo589 14
Tarheel 13

Random Quote

Strategy is the art of making use of time and space. I am less concerned about the later than the former. Space we can recover, lost time never.~Napoleon