Question on the special rule concerning the 8 French line infantry units that form Macdonald’s Square. The special rule says if any unit of the 8 is ordered then all of them are ordered and no unit may break away from the formation. Furthermore, even though all 8 are ordered, only the number on the command card played may battle.
1) May the 8 French units move in any direction as long as each unit is adjacent to another unit of the formation? or do all the units have to stay in that hollow center formation?
2) If French player plays a command card of attack (3 units) center for example, and orders 2 artillery units and 1 unit from the formation. Does only 1 unit from the formation battle or does 3?
Thanks. Very fun game and the rules are very well written; just the occasional question pops up.