Which Expansion To Get?

More
5 years 11 months ago #2137 by The_Jolly_Cuirassier
Hi! I'm new here, as you can probably tell. I've been playing CC Napoleonics for a couple of months now, and I really love the game. The combination of the history with the simplicity of mechanics and the great amount of fun involved makes it top-notch, in my opinion. I've played through all of the scenarios in the base set, and I'm ready to get one of the expansions. So, I thought I'd try to get some opinions on the various expansions from veteran players.

So, I'm completely opening it up to you experienced players for opinions! First, I need to know if the expansions are consecutive, and you need to buy them in order of their release if you want the later ones to make any sense. If that's the case, then I guess I'll be getting the Spanish expansion. If not, though, then I'd like to hear which expansion you guys like the most. Thanks!

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
5 years 11 months ago #2138 by Grondeaux
Replied by Grondeaux on topic Which Expansion To Get?
Welcome to the C&C: Napoleonics crowd!

The expansions are not sequential... once you have the base game, you can add the expansions in any order.

My personal preference is the Austrians, although others may disagree with me. I find both the Spanish and Russians a challenge to play. The Spanish because they are weak troops who easily run away, and the Russians because they usually start the game under-strength and consequently don't last long. I have not played the new Prussian expansion enough to make a judgment on them.