Special Variants

More
2 weeks 6 days ago - 12 hours 49 minutes ago #739 by raquila888
Special Variants was created by raquila888
I would like to offer the following variants:

Artillery Fire Over Rule
An artillery unit on a hill hex does not have its line of sight blocked by a friendly unit or general that is one or two hexes away from it at lower elevation. In this case the artillery unit may fire over the friendly unit or general provided that nothing else blocks its line of sight.

Sabers Melee Rule
When an artillery unit attacks a unit, or when an infantry or cavalry unit attacks a nonadjacent unit, a sabers roll is a simple miss. When an infantry or cavalry unit attacks an adjacent unit, a sabers roll signifies a melee: the die is rerolled until a nonsabers result is achieved, which is then applied, whether a hit, or a simple miss, or a retreat flag. Exception: When the Bucktails unit attacks a nonadjacent unit, a sabers roll is treated as if it signified a melee.

Bolster Morale Rule
When attacked, a unit that is one of three contiguous friendly units in linear formation may ignore one retreat flag rolled against it. The idea is that the friendly units support each other and serve to bolster morale. This effect does stack with the ability of a unit with an attached general to ignore one retreat flag, resulting in the ability to ignore two retreat flags. This effect does not stack with the ability of a unit to ignore one retreat flag due to an entrenchment or a fieldwork or terrain.

Weak Units Rule
A unit that has been reduced to one figure is a weak unit; weak units without an attached general roll one less die when they attack.

Free Orders Rule
At the beginning of his turn, a player rolls 1d6 to determine the number of free orders he will be permitted in that turn. Free orders are ones that the player may issue to his units or generals on the board independently of any restrictions placed by command cards. These are extra orders -- ones to be issued in a given turn in addition to any provided by the command card played in that turn. A free order may be given to a unit or general in any section of the board. Of course, a player may still never give more than one order to a single unit or general in a single turn. A player may issue all, some, or none of the free orders that he is permitted in a given turn. On a roll of 1-2, a player may issue one free order in that turn. On a roll of 3-4, a player may issue two free orders in that turn. On a roll of 5-6, a player may issue three free orders in that turn.
Last edit: 12 hours 49 minutes ago by raquila888.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Time to create page: 0.421 seconds

Forum Statistics

  • Total Users:268
  • Latest Member:Garcia
  • Total Posts:611
  • Total Topics:165
  • Total Sections:2
  • Total Categories:12
  • Today Open:0
  • Yesterday Open:0
  • Today Answer:0
  • Yesterday Answer:0

Top Posters

Top Posters Posts
Bayernkini 220
Mark MCG 53
NimitsTexan 38
seanapdaniel 20
Garcia 16

Top Thanks

Top Thanks Thanks
Bayernkini 37
Mark MCG 13
Nothung 12
NimitsTexan 5
seanapdaniel 4