07 Tactic Card Explanations

1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 Rating 0.00 (0 Votes)

{phocadocumentation view=navigation|type=mpcn}

Tactic Card Explanations

This section contains further explanations of how some of the tactic cards work in certain situations.

Fight Back

Play this card only on your opponent’s turn after one of his or hex units battles, and only if your defending unit wasn’t eliminated or forced to retreat. Your defending unit battles the attacking enemy unit. At the end of the opponent’s turn, you draw your replacement card first.

  • You may play a Fight Back card after the first attack of an enemy artillery unit that is ordered by a Bombard card. If you eliminate the artillery unit or force it to retreat, it may not make its second attack.
  • When an enemy cavalry battles under the orders of a Hit and Run card, you may play a Fight Back card after that cavalry unit battles and before it makes its second move. If you eliminate the cavalry unit or forced to it to retreat, it may not make its second move.
  • You may not play a Fight Back card on a turn after your opponent plays a Sharp Shooter card.
  • You may not play a Fight Back card on a turn after your opponent plays a Fight Back card.
  • You may not play a Fight Back card against a more distant enemy unit when your unit being attacked is adjacent to an enemy unit.
  • You may not play a Fight Back card against a unit if your unit being attacked doesn’t have line of sight to the enemy unit that just attacked. This can occur when an artillery unit on a hill is firing over the heads of an adjacent friendly unit.

Counterattack

When you play this card, it becomes a copy of the card your opponent played on his or her last turn. Follow the instructions on that card as though you were actually playing it, except reverse any flank referenced made on the card (‘left flank” becomes “right flank” and vice versa).
You may Counterattack a Counterattack card.
You may not Counterattack your opponent’s play of a Fight Back card.

Hit And Run

Issue 1 order to each of your cavalry units and generals that aren’t attached to cavalry units. This turn, each cavalry unit may move, may then battle, and may move again. If you don’t have any cavalry units, instead issue 1 order to a unit of your choice in any section.
Any step—first move, battle, or second move—is not required to do the next step. For example, a cavalry unit does not have to battle before it makes its second move. Treat the cavalry movement as two separate moves, with the second move completed after all units have battled.

Short Supply

Choose 1 enemy or friendly unit in any section. That unit’s player chooses a vacant hex on his or her edge of the battlefield in the same section as that unit and puts the unit on that hex, along with its attached general (if any).
If no hexes are vacant on the edge of the battlefield, place the unit in a vacant hex one row forward of the edge.
(RB) Although not in the original 150th rules, add the following note to Short supply.
If the unit is your unit, it may not battle this turn.

Print Email