All-Out Offensive (Optional Rules)

1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 Rating 0.00 (0 Votes)

gamebox AH

This variant refers to the original Avalon Hill edition (2000).

The "All-out Offensive" is such a powerful card that it can dominate the game.

Successful coordination of units across the battlefield required extraordinary staff work as well as good fortune. Such a command effort would require extra attention, staff and courier time, and a delay in carrying on the tempo of battle. To limit the card's potential for unbalancing a game, and to add an interesting dilemma to a commander's plans which reflect these considerations, use the following option, agreed upon before the game:

After all, no plan of battle survives first contact with the enemy. Besides, "If your attack is going too well, you have walked into an ambush!"--from Murphy's Laws of Battle.

Option 1

When an All-Out Offensive card is played, that player must "Pass" on his immediately following turn. The player discards and replaces one card from his hand as normal, but must "pass" on his next turn. In effect, using the "All-Out Offensive card gives the opposing player two turns in a row to respond.

NOTE 1: If the opposing player plays the "Counter-Attack" card in response to the "All-Out Offensive", then the opposing player must follow the same rule as if they actually played an "All-Out Offensive" card, thereby giving the original player two turns in a row.

Option 2

When an All-Out Offensive card is played, that player does not draw another card to fill out his hand for the remainder of the current game. The effect is to reduce the player's hand by one card for the duration of the game, reflecting the attention and resources used for the assault.

NOTE: If in a given scenario, a player starts with three or fewer orders cards, he must instead exercise Option 1 only. In other words, a player's hand may not be reduced to fewer than three cards by use of this "optional" All-Out Offensive card.

Option 3

When an All-Out Offensive card is played, the OPPONENT chooses whether the penalty of Option 1 or Option 2 is applied, keeping in mind that a player can not be reduced to less than three orders cards.

 

Print Email