610 Sphacteria (425 BC)
After the Battle of Pylos, a force of Spartan soldiers was isolated on the island of Sphacteria. Demosthenes, commanding the force at Pylos, initially planned to starve the Spartans out, but it became clear over time that the Spartans would be able to hold out. He requested reinforcements from Athens. Cleon, with an Athenian expeditionary force, landed and moved inland, harassing the Spartans with missile fire whenever they attempted to advance to battle. The frustrated Spartans withdrew to the northern end of the island, where they waited behind their fortications. A stalemate took place for some time, until an Athenian force burst into the Spartan rear using a route along the island’s shore that had been left unguarded because of its roughness. The Spartans abandoned their defenses after Epitadas, their commander, was killed. Styphon, now in command, ordered his surrounded men to throw down their shields and surrender. The mystique of Spartan invincibility was shattered.
The stage is set. The battle lines are drawn and you are in command. Can you change history?
Athenian Army (Use Greek light blue blocks)
• Leader: Demosthenes
• 6 Command Cards
• Move First
Spartan Army (Use Spartan orange and bronze Hoplite blocks)
• Leader: Epitadas
• 5 Command Cards
• Each Athenian unit that occupies any one terrain hex in the center, or left section of the battlefield, between the line of ramparts and the Spartan base line, at the start of the Athenian player’s turn, will gain the Athenian player one Victory Banner. The Victory Banner is retained as long as the unit remains between a rampart and Spartan baseline hex or is not eliminated..
• The Hoplite Infantry rule is in effect.
• Three Spartan units are special bronze five block MH units.
Tags: Expansion 6
"In the scenario 'Sphacteria - 425 BC' from the Spartan expansion, the Special Rules state that the Athenian player gains a victory banner for each "terrain hex" occupied. Is that any of the 27 hexes behind the ramparts and on the left and centre map, or only the 2 hexes that contain actual terrain (broken ground) tiles?"
The use of 'terrain hex' rather than just 'hex' leads me to believe it is just the two eligible broken ground hexes, but the last sentence of the rule has me doubting?