X79 Valentia (75 BC)
Pompey’s Victory at Valentia 75 BC
Roman vs Sertorian
“…However, afterwards, in a battle near Valentia he (Pompey) gave a great defeat to Herennius and Perpenna, two commanders among the refugees who had fled to Sertorius, and now lieutenants under him, in which he slew above ten thousand men…” (A snippet from Plutarch’s ‘Life of Pompey’)
Leaders: Herennius and Perpenna (supposedly they were rival Sertorian commanders each with their own forces clubbed together in a polyglot rebel Sertorian army)
Victory is 8 Banners for both sides.
Special Scenario Rules:
Leader Command, Pompey, & Rally Special Rules:
All other Leaders may cancel a retreat or a sword hit if present with the unit.
Units on both sides involved in close combat with the support of a Leader may only count one helmet hit amongst those rolled to inflict a hit on an opposing unit, unless Pompey is the supporting leader---then up to two helmet hits may be counted.
Units and the Rally Card: No unit can be rallied to beyond four blocks or its strength at the start of the game whichever is less. If a Player rolls “swords” when attempting to rally he may freely chose which unit gets a block back.
Roman Legionary Infantry Rules:
The following types of infantry units in the game on BOTH sides are assumed to be Roman Legionaries: Heavy Infantry, and Medium Infantry, ALL of these units are considered to be Roman Legionary Infantry. The combatants in this era of Roman civil war often recruited non-citizens from different areas of the Roman Republican Empire into their Legions and as a result the quality of such forces sometimes varied widely.
Each Roman Legionary Infantry unit starts with a Pilum Marker. The Pilum is a one-time use weapon that is generally fired right before a Roman Legionary unit attacks in close-combat or is itself attacked by the enemy in close-combat. Once the pilum is fired (or lost see below) –the Pilum marker is removed from the Roman unit to indicate that the pilum has been expended and the unit may not throw Pilum for the rest of the battle.
Just before a Roman unit with pilum is attacked or is itself attacked by the enemy for the very first time in the battle in close-combat it throws its pilum—roll one die and apply normal hits for swords, color, or a Flag/retreat hit Afterwards remove the Pilum marker. The act of throwing the pilum is not considered to be part of the Close-Combat—so any result of the pilum throw is resolved before the Close-combat. If two Roman Legionary Infantry units that have not thrown pilum yet engage the attacker resolves his pilum throw first. An attached Leader may use his special ability to cancel a “swords” hit that was inflicted via a pilum hit (see special Command rules) on the unit he is stacked with.
Roman units, adjacent to the enemy, that have not expended their Pilum may also be ordered to throw Pilum if the card “Darken the Sky” is played by their commanding player. The Player picks one adjacent enemy unit and throws two dice –apply the results just as one would before close combat—and remove the Pilum Marker.
Roman Relief Moves & Cohort Maneuvers:
Adjacent and on the same side Roman Legionary Infantry, instead of moving, may switch places in a “Relief/Cohort Maneuver”. Relief/Cohort Maneuvers may only be conducted through the play of Section cards ONLY. Instead of ordering one unit via a section card, the controlling Player may order a pair of adjacent Legionary Infantry units to switch
hexes—at least one of the units switching places must not be adjacent to an enemy unit. A unit that switched places via the Relief/Cohort Maneuver into a hex adjacent to the enemy may close combat in the same player-turn. Sertorian Auxillia units may also conduct Roman Relief/Maneuver with each other or Sertorian Legionary infantry units.
Special Unit Rules:
Roman Elite Slingers:
The sole Roman Player Slinger unit hits on swords when executing missile fire against Sertorian light foot units & also hits on swords when battling-back in close combat against any Sertorian unit.
Sertorian Roman-Trained Auxillia Units
The Sertorian Auxillia units represent the bulk of Sertorian infantry from the tribes of Iberia. These units used a more open Iberian skirmish style combat order in battle, but also were trained by Sertorius and his rebel citizen forces at least to some extent in Roman tactics, discipline, and weapons
a) Sertorian Auxillia units may evade if attacked by Roman Player Legionary units.
b) Sertorian Auxillia units may conduct Roman Relief/Cohort Maneuver with each other or Sertorian Legionary infantry units.
Outflanking---This is an easy way of introducing facing and flanks to the game with little fuss—it can be retrofitted to other scenarios where appropriate:
A unit is said to be “Outflanked” if it is surrounded in all six adjacent hexes by either enemy units, or hexes adjacent to an enemy unit. The presence of friendly units or impassable terrain does not negate an “Outflanked” situation in any way. Units on the board edges (and not surrounded by six adjacent hexes) cannot be “Outflanked”.
Effects of being Outflanked: “Outflanked” units when battling back roll only half the normal number of dice they would be normally entitled to rounded up—to a maximum of only two dice—“Outflanked” units when battling back never hit on helmet rolls even if supported by a leader. A unit’s “Outflanked” situation is judged at the instant it battles back.
Special Terrain Rules:
Fordable River Hexes: Apparently the fordable river that initially separated the two forces was not much of an obstacle, therefore use the following rules: Ordered units may move right through river hexes just as if it they are clear terrain—in combat effects units close-combat attacking out of or battling back out of river tiles do so at only one dice less than normal. Units attacking or battling into river hexes use normal rolls.
Sertorian Leader Rivalry & Separate Forces:
The Perperna Sertorian Leader may never enter voluntarily a hex containing a Herennius force unit, or support, rally, or help in any way a non-Perperna force unit in battle.
The Herennius Leader may never enter voluntarily a hex containing a Perpenna force unit, or support, rally, or help in any way a non- Herennius unit in battle.
Perperna force and Herennius force units may never be ordered in the same card play by the Sertorian Player. Only units of one of the two Sertorian forces may be ordered by play of a single card by the Sertorian play
. This rule may prevent some units from being ordered by a particular card play-in that case only units from one force are ordered per the card at the option of the Sertorian Player-the other possible orders that would be available under the normal rules are lost and not used.