222 Angrivarii Rampart (16 AD)

1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 Rating 4.38 (4 Votes)
Victory Results:
 54 %
Record a victory for BOTTOM ARMY  46 %
Total plays 48 - Last reported by clavain on 2022-12-08 16:22:05

Historical Background
Following the catastrophe at the Teutoburger Wald, Augustus dispatched a series of punitive expeditions into Germany. In 14 AD, Tiberius became emperor and assigned his adopted son Germanicus Julius Caesar to the German province. In AD 16, Arminius decided the time had come to destroy another Roman army. He deployed his Germanic army to ambush Germanicus at a point in a plain between a forest and a deep, broad stream. His infantry waited behind an old boundary rampart while he deployed his cavalry in the woods, waiting to charge out onto the Roman rear. Germanicus was a far better tactician than Varus. He scouted well and did not fall for the trap, sending auxiliary infantry into the forest to occupy the German cavalry while his legions attacked the ramparts. The first Roman attempt at the ramparts was repulsed, so Germanicus ordered forward his engines and light troops to soften up the Germanic position. The second attack broke through the rampart and the Germans behind the ramparts fled. The battle then shifted to the woods where the fighting went on until dusk. Arminius withdrew in the darkness and the Roman cavalry pursuit was indecisive. Germanicus had won a tactical victory with little strategic impact. Arminius had survived with a depleted but intact army to continue the fight. In the following year, the Emperor Tiberius decided to abandon Germany and fix the limit of the Roman Empire at the Rhine. Roman expansion was at an end, and the Germanic tribes remained free, with dramatic implications for the future of Europe.
The stage is set. The battle lines are drawn and you are in command. The rest is history.

Light InfantryAuxilia InfantryMedium InfantryWarriorsMedium CavalryLeader
Light InfantryLight BowAuxiliaMedium InfantryWarriorsLight CavalryMedium CavalryWar MachineLeader

War Council

Germanic Tribes
• Leader: Arminius
• 5 Command Cards      

Roman Army
• Leader: Germanicus
• 6 Command Cards 
• Move First

6 Banners

Special Rules
• The Roman player gains one Victory Banner for each rampart hex a Roman unit occupies and holds. A maximum of two banners may be gained.

• The river is impassable.

Marius Legions Rule is in effect.

Tags: Expansion 2, 6 banners, Roman, Barbarian, Marian Legion

Print Email

Log in to comment

clavain replied the topic: #4487 1 month 2 weeks ago
6-4 Germans. Romans had mostly dribs and drabs of move two or three left, right or centre cards and order light troops, so were pretty much forced into a grinding assault into the woods on their left, and were ahead 4-1 at one point, until Arminius played Mounted Charge, broke through and rescued the day before the Roman medium cav could engage. Fun scenario with options for the Romans (me) if the cards had come out better.
Mark-McG's Avatar
Mark-McG replied the topic: #3814 1 year 10 months ago
stumbled across this today

Special Rules - as written...

• The Roman player gains one Victory Banner for each rampart hex a Roman unit occupies and holds. A maximum of two banners may be gained.

Sorry - the statement could have been written in detailed as follows:

• The Roman player gains one Victory Banner the moment the Roman unit moves onto a rampart hex. A Roman unit that moves onto a rampart hex and remains on the hex, by definition, means that the Roman unit is occupying the hex.

Note that only a maximum of two Victory Banners may be gained by Roman units that occupy rampart hexes.

The Roman player maintains the Victory Banner as long as the unit remains on the rampart hex (is holding the hex).

If the Roman player moves off or is eliminated the rampart hex would no longer be occupied by the Roman unit and the Victory Banner for occupying the rampart hex would be lost.

Richard Borg
DanieleC replied the topic: #3811 1 year 10 months ago
doing some research in internet I saw that CC Napoleonics and Tricorn have in the rules detailed description of when a victory banner is gained beasue of an objective differenciating between Temporary Victory Banner Objective, Start Turn Temporary Victory Banner Objective, Permanent Victory Banner Objective and Turn Start Permanent Victory Banner Objective. Do anyone knows if thie is applycable also to CCA and if there's any written ruling on this from GMT and/or Richard Borg?
DanieleC replied the topic: #3810 1 year 10 months ago
I see this as Mark, and there's also a comment from Alessandro Crespi (www.commandsandcolors.net/ancients/forum...opic&catid=11&id=255) which has the same opinion.

I tried to search in internet to find official written rules from GMT and/or R. Borg, but I was unable to find any.

It woudl be good if other players would show with their idea.
Polonus100 replied the topic: #3805 1 year 10 months ago
I don't think so. As in CCN should be gained after withstanding enemy's Turn and possible counterattack, at the begining of the next Roman turn. So "holds" means here "holds enemy response" and is the necessary condition to gain VB.
Mark-McG's Avatar
Mark-McG replied the topic: #3804 1 year 10 months ago
The Roman player gains one Victory Banner for each rampart hex a Roman unit occupies and holds. A maximum of two banners may be gained.

there is a little ambiguity around this condition, but I read it as a banner is gained immediately a Roman unit occupies a Rampart hex, and is held for as long as a Roman unit remains in the hex.
kostas63's Avatar
kostas63 replied the topic: #3485 2 years 7 months ago
Vittoria Romana 6-3. Germanico da' ordine per una lenta ma generale avanzata nel centro, anche se i barbari di Arminio si stanno avvicinando al limitare del bosco. Resosi conto che l'ala destra dei barbari non reagisce, Germanico da' l'ordine di assalire i bastioni. I barbari respingono un primo assalto e anzi, con coraggio contrattaccano ottenendo buoni risultati ma perdendo nello scontro il loro capo. I romani serrano le file e unite le unita' del centro e della loro destra raggiungono di nuovo e conquistano i bastioni questa volta definitivamente.
cosarara replied the topic: #3138 3 years 4 months ago
I found this scenario quite interesting, as a German you cannot just hold the rampant but, it's fundamental to counterattack with the right timing in order to disrupt roman timetable and get some well deserved banner, the woods on the German right are instrumental in holding the romans at Bay either sending light infantry into them of counterattacking if the romans set their feet inside. Well designed and interesting scenario.
mk20336's Avatar
mk20336 replied the topic: #2436 4 years 10 months ago
And the last game of our recent mini-campaign. Despite the odds shown on website, Romans prevailed hitting hard into the center of the rampart with Double Time:

This site uses cookies to improve your experience.