VV03 Adrianople (378 AD)

More
3 years 11 months ago #3590 by alecrespi
Historical Backgroundhttps://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Battle_of_AdrianopleThe stage is set. The...

VV03 Adrianople (378 AD)

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
1 year 4 weeks ago - 1 year 4 weeks ago #3591 by Mark-McG
Replied by Mark-McG on topic VV03 Adrianople (378 AD)
"Roman First Orders: at least one order must be given to Bacurius’ troops in the Left section before moving any other troops."

presumably this means on the first Roman card play, the Roman HCC must be ordered.
Only the first turn
Only that unit (first), and then others as normal

"I will either find a way, or make one."
attrib to Hannibal Barca
Last edit: 1 year 4 weeks ago by Mark-McG.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
1 year 4 weeks ago #3592 by Mark-McG
Replied by Mark-McG on topic VV03 Adrianople (378 AD)
I'd rate the Scenario special rules as some of the worst I have encountered.

- Roman First Orders: at least one order must be given to Bacurius’ troops in the Left section before moving any other troops.

what does this mean? Does it apply just to the first Command card, or every turn? Does it have to be the HCC unit, or can it be any left unit? Can Bacurius move to another troop and order that one? What if the Romans CANNOT order any units in the Left section?
This seems to me one of the weirdest, straightjacket rules I have encountered, with no real explanation of how it works.
It also seems totally unneeded, Bacurius is already in an advanced position.

- The Goth player can enter his cavalry groups by playing an "inspired leader" card (no matter which).

which of course assumes the Goth player draws one of the 3 Inspired Leadership Command cards out of the 60 cards. If they don't, as is probable, then no cavalry. Moreover, if the Roman player draws those cards, they know the odds of the cavalry coming are reduced. What if the Roman got all 3? Did the designer think this through at all, or are they just born lucky?

"I will either find a way, or make one."
attrib to Hannibal Barca

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Moderators: Freeloading-Phill
Time to create page: 0.510 seconds

Forum Statistics

  • Total Users:1054
  • Latest Member:Atanasd7
  • Total Posts:4000
  • Total Topics:1013
  • Total Sections:2
  • Total Categories:36
  • Today Open:0
  • Yesterday Open:0
  • Today Answer:0
  • Yesterday Answer:0

Top Posters

Top Posters Posts
Mark-McG 437
mk20336 222
alecrespi 175
g1ul10 146
The-Admiral 104

Top Thanks

Top Thanks Thanks
Mark-McG 19
alecrespi 11
g1ul10 11
mk20336 10
t.gracchus 5

This site uses cookies to improve your experience.