Darken The Sky - unit eligibility

More
9 years 3 months ago #1336 by Achtung-Panzer
When playing Darken The Sky, there's no mention of units being adjacent to an enemy. Can these units be ordered and then allowed to fire if a target presents itself during the turn i.e. the original adjacent unit has been destroyed or forced to retreat?

This is the case with Firefight in Memoir '44.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
9 years 3 months ago #1337 by Memenne
Yep !
See the note in the rules :

NOTE: This means all ranged weapons units are considered “ordered.” While a unit cannot range fire if adjacent an enemy unit, if that changes during battling (perhaps because of fire from some other unit that eliminates or forces the adjacent unit to retreat), then the newly released unit is still ordered and may range fire.

Have fun...
Manu

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
9 years 3 months ago #1338 by The-Admiral
Darken the sky - One of those cards that if you have plenty of light units in range it can be devestating, but then sometimes even with bucket loads of dice it just peters out with a wimper.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
9 years 3 months ago - 9 years 3 months ago #1339 by Achtung-Panzer
Last edit: 9 years 3 months ago by Achtung-Panzer.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
9 years 3 months ago #1340 by Achtung-Panzer
Memenne wrote:

Yep !
See the note in the rules :

NOTE: This means all ranged weapons units are considered “ordered.” While a unit cannot range fire if adjacent an enemy unit, if that changes during battling (perhaps because of fire from some other unit that eliminates or forces the adjacent unit to retreat), then the newly released unit is still ordered and may range fire.

Have fun...
Manu


Ah yes, I knew I'd read it somewhere. And the same applies to ordering units without an adjacent enemy, but no target at the start of the turn.

I know there are some 'universal' rules across the C&C family, but it's always best to check e.g. you can take the hex after a retire / evade in C&C: Napoleonics

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
9 years 3 months ago #1342 by Freeloading-Phill
Achtung Panzer wrote:

When playing Darken The Sky, there's no mention of units being adjacent to an enemy. Can these units be ordered and then allowed to fire if a target presents itself during the turn i.e. the original adjacent unit has been destroyed or forced to retreat?

This is the case with Firefight in Memoir '44.


I'll just point out that this is not the case for Memoir's Firefight card which explicitly states "Units in a firefight may not be adjacent to an enemy unit, ".

You may be thinking of being able to order units with no target but that can later have a unit retreat into range.

Personally I think it is an area that could have consistency across all the games and for thematic reasons I'd lean towards the Firefight version rather than the Darken version. FOr gameplay I might lean the other way. Either way you have questions about who can fire. :unsure:

Phill

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Moderators: Freeloading-Phill
Time to create page: 0.690 seconds

Forum Statistics

  • Total Users:1043
  • Latest Member:Paul Hannah
  • Total Posts:3913
  • Total Topics:1002
  • Total Sections:2
  • Total Categories:36
  • Today Open:0
  • Yesterday Open:0
  • Today Answer:1
  • Yesterday Answer:1

Top Posters

Top Posters Posts
Mark-McG 428
mk20336 217
alecrespi 175
g1ul10 145
The-Admiral 104

Top Thanks

Top Thanks Thanks
Mark-McG 19
g1ul10 11
alecrespi 11
mk20336 10
t.gracchus 5

This site uses cookies to improve your experience.