Line Command card Question (can the adjacent units split into distinct groups?)

More
9 years 7 months ago - 9 years 7 months ago #1224 by nicolasmorlino
Does the "Line Command" group need to remain in adjacent linked hexes after each unit moves? Or can the adjacent units from the "line command" group split into two or three separate groups after they move one hex each? T
Last edit: 9 years 7 months ago by nicolasmorlino.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
9 years 7 months ago #1226 by Memenne
In my opinion, nothing prevents you from splitting the units with the Line Command card.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
9 years 7 months ago #1227 by Achtung-Panzer
I agree there is no rule to prevent this, but thematically I guess this is a group order / move.

Generally I don't think ancient armies had that degree of independence or tactical training to move away from a general when advancing, especially into melee? keeping together in a block was important for survival.

Maybe elite units, especially cavalry / mounted, could have the option to seperate away from the general?

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
9 years 7 months ago - 9 years 7 months ago #1228 by nicolasmorlino
Many thanks for the quick replies. I also saw nothing in the rule that would prevent it. This should probably be clarified (i.e. explicitly allowed or disallowed) in the next official edition of the rule book.

From a historical standpoint, I would also be very interested in knowing whether ancient foot divisions actually attacked and/or repositioned from a single initial location onto two different fronts once a battle had started. I guess this might depend on the armies and the period. If such a "split" never actually happened, then we could feel confident to assume that the rule implies that the group needs to stay a single group.

Going forward, unless I hear different from a Forum member, I will assume that I can split the "line of command" group into several subgroups when moving one hex. Thanks again!
Last edit: 9 years 7 months ago by nicolasmorlino.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
9 years 7 months ago #1229 by The-Admiral
Units may split. The card tells you which units may be ordered and the rules tell you what those ordered units may do. Neither the card or the rules say anything about units ordered by a line command having to remain together.

Go by what the rules say. Not by what you think they may imply or how you might envisage the situation working in your head.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
9 years 7 months ago #1230 by Achtung-Panzer
The Admiral wrote:

Units may split. The card tells you which units may be ordered and the rules tell you what those ordered units may do. Neither the card or the rules say anything about units ordered by a line command having to remain together.

Go by what the rules say. Not by what you think they may imply or how you might envisage the situation working in your head.


Fair enough. Splitting units has certainly worked in my favour, especially with Warriors moving 2 hexes to combat and is a powerful move.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • alecrespi
  • Visitor
  • Visitor
9 years 7 months ago - 9 years 7 months ago #1232 by alecrespi
Just in case... for further reference I've updated FAQs section.
Last edit: 9 years 7 months ago by alecrespi.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
9 years 7 months ago #1233 by Achtung-Panzer
Thanks Alessandro, that makes the situation clear.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
9 years 7 months ago - 9 years 7 months ago #1234 by Freeloading-Phill

Achtung Panzer wrote:
Fair enough. Splitting units has certainly worked in my favour, especially with Warriors moving 2 hexes to combat and is a powerful move.


Do note that with Line Command units may only move one hex. Line Command restricts the normal move of the Warriors to a one hex move.

Phill
Last edit: 9 years 7 months ago by Freeloading-Phill. Reason: fixed quoting.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
9 years 7 months ago #1235 by nicolasmorlino
Thanks to all for the comments and the answer!

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Moderators: Freeloading-Phill
Time to create page: 0.385 seconds

Forum Statistics

  • Total Users:1043
  • Latest Member:Paul Hannah
  • Total Posts:3913
  • Total Topics:1002
  • Total Sections:2
  • Total Categories:36
  • Today Open:0
  • Yesterday Open:0
  • Today Answer:1
  • Yesterday Answer:1

Top Posters

Top Posters Posts
Mark-McG 428
mk20336 217
alecrespi 175
g1ul10 145
The-Admiral 104

Top Thanks

Top Thanks Thanks
Mark-McG 19
g1ul10 11
alecrespi 11
mk20336 10
t.gracchus 5

This site uses cookies to improve your experience.